Service Area




Hamilton County Electric Cooperative Association is an electric cooperative corporation organized and operating under the Electric Cooperative Corporation Act (art. 1528b, V.A.C.S.) and the laws of the State of Texas and its owned Members. The Cooperative's business affairs are managed by a board of directors who are elected to the board from and by the Cooperative's Members in accordance with the provisions of the bylaws.
Type of Service

The Cooperative provides electric utility service through the operation of a retail electric distribution system. The Cooperative does not engage in the generation of electric power, but instead purchases all of its electric energy requirements form Brazos Electric Power Cooperative, Inc.


Service Area


A. Certification


The Public Utility Commission (PUC) of Texas authorized the Cooperative to provide electric utility service by the issuance of a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity.


B. Counties


The service area of the Cooperative includes all or portions of the following counties:

  • Hamilton
  • Coryell
  • Lampasas
  • San Saba
  • Llano
  • Mills
  • Commanche

There may be dual certification (PUC has certified Hamilton County Electric Cooperative and other electric companies to provide service) in portions of these areas. Other electric companies may have exclusive certification rights to provide electricity to portions of these counties.


C. Cities


The service area of the Cooperative includes all or portions of the following incorporated municipalities:

  • Copperas Cove
  • Evant
  • Gatesville
  • Kempner
  • Lometa
  • South Mountain

Image of Cooperative Service Areas in the State of Texas

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo