Skip to Main Content

Government in Action – Youth Tour





Win a Trip to Washington, DC!

June 6–15, 2018​

YOU’RE A TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL JUNIOR OR SENIOR. YOU’RE SMART; YOU HAVE BIG DREAMS. Maybe you’ve never been out of the state, and maybe you’ve never flown on a plane, but you want to travel—to experience a big city, visit historic landmarks and meet people, and not just fellow high schoolers but influential public figures, like your U.S. representative.

If that describes you, then you’re a candidate to apply for a slot on the Government-In-Action Youth Tour, an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., June 6–15, 2018, sponsored by Hamilton County Electric Cooperative Association and organized by Texas Electric Cooperatives.

Youth Tour is an action-packed trip to the U.S. capital with about 125 of your peers and chaperones from across Texas. You’ll visit the Washington National Cathedral, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, Smithsonian Institution, memorials and more.

You could be a part of this legacy shared by the more than 3,800 past Texas Youth Tour students who have participated since 1965.

Eligibility: Students who have completed their sophomore year of high school and whose parent or legal guardian is a member of Hamilton County EC are eligible.

Contest Rules: Students must complete a 2018 Youth Tour application and submit an essay not to exceed 500 words on this theme: “If you had the opportunity to change one thing about your school or community, what would it be and why?” The winners will be chosen according to originality and content of their essays. Essays must be attached to the completed application and submitted no later than February 23, 2018.

For more information, visit Contact Keela Payne by phone at (254) 386-9428 or by email at for an application.


Full article is available in the Coop Magazine

Hamilton County Electric Cooperative logo Hamilton County Electric Cooperative
420 North Rice or P.O. Box 753
Hamilton, TX 76531
Toll Free: (800) 595-3401
SmartHub logo
SmartHub is a trademark owned by National Information Solutions Cooperative.